Civil Contingencies Act (2004)

Information about responder categories.

The Civil Contingencies Act (2004) introduces six duties for category one responders with a 7th for local authorities only. These duties are:
1. Risk assessment  
2. Emergency Planning
3. Communicating with the public
4. Co-operation
5. Information sharing
6. Business continuity
7. Promotion of business continuity within the community (for local authorities only) 


The Civil Contingencies Act 2004 provides definitions of category 1 and category 2 responders.

Category 1 responders

  • Local Authorities
  • Fire and rescue
  • Police
  • Ambulance
  • Environment agency
  • Marine and Coastguard agency
  • NHS Trusts, Public Health England and Port Health Authorities

Category 2 Responders

  • Utilities: electricity and gas distribution companies
  • Water and sewerage undertaker
  • Telephone service providers (mobile and fixed)
  • Transport: Airport operators, railway operators, ports
  • Highway Authority

Under the Health and Safety at Work Act (1974) and other legislation, local authorities have duties to make arrangements for specific contingencies such as major industrial hazards and radiation emergencies.

In a number of areas the Government expects local authorities to make emergency arrangements.